इंडियन आवाज़     05 Dec 2023 05:00:59      انڈین آواز

Speaker asks SAARC nations to strengthen cooperation

Speaker of the Lok Sabha Meira Kumar took the Chair of association from the outgoing President, Chamal Rajapaksa, Speaker of the Parliament of Sri Lanka.

After assuming the Chair of the President of the Association, Meira Kumar said that the SAARC Charter is an important milestone in strengthening regional cooperation among the member countries.

She also informed the gathering about the decision taken at the meeting of the Speakers’ Council held on 9 July 2011 regarding amendment in the Rules of the Association providing for one-fifth representation of women MPs in the Delegation from each member country.  

She further apprised the Delegates of the Speakers’ Council’s decision to form a Group of Women Parliamentarians consisting of the women delegates attending the Conference.  

The Group shall work for the promotion of women’s cause and hold a meeting of Women Parliamentarians of SAARC countries under the overall umbrella of the Association.  It was announced that Dr. Fehmida Mirza, Speaker of National Assembly of Pakistan, will be the Vice-President of the Association as Pakistan has proposed to host the next Conference of the Association of SAARC Speakers and Parliamentarians in 2012.

The Conference then took up for discussion the subject Consolidating Democracy: Strengthening Trust between Parliaments of the People for discussion.

The Lead Speakers in this Session were Dr. Fehmida Miraza, Speaker, National Assembly of Pakistan; and  Abdul Raouf Ibrahimi, President of the National Assembly (Wolesi Jirga) of Afghanistan.  Others who took part in the discussion were the  Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Shri K. Rahman Khan;  Abdulla Shahid, Speaker of the People’s Majlis of Maldives;  Sheikh Fazlul Karim Salim, Member, Parliament of Bangladesh;  Yashwant Sinha, Member, Lok Sabha;  Sunil Hadunnetti, Member, Parliament of Sri Lanka;  Laxman Prasad Ghimire, Chief Whip, Nepali Congress in the Parliament of Nepal;  Maya Singh, Member, Rajya Sabha;  Anisul Islam Mahmud, Member, Parliament of Bangladesh;  Mrs. Nasima Neyazi, Member Wolesi Jirga;  E.T. Mohammed Basheer, Member, Lok Sabha;  Mangala Samaraweera, Member, Parliament of Sri Lanka;  Shahnaz Wazir Ali, Member, National Assembly of Pakistan;  P.J. Kurien, Member, Rajya Sabha;  Kashmala Tariq, Member, National Assembly of Pakistan;  Mahesh Joshi, Member, Lok Sabha;  Arjun Meghwal, Member, Lok Sabha; and  Nadendla Manohar, Speaker, Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Govt launches National Best Tourism Village Competition & Best Rural Homestay Competition 2024

AMN / WEB DESK Union Tourism Ministry has launched National Best Tourism Village Competition and the Nation ...

Thailand announces visa-free entry for Indian citizens

Thailand is scrapping visas for scores of Indian tourists in order to rekindle the fire in its tourism sector. ...

World Tourism Day 2023: Govt Launches ‘Travel for LiFE’ Campaign

By Vinit Wahi On the occasion of World Tourism Day 2023 today, the Ministry of Tourism (Northern Region) u ...


International forum on ‘Role of Media in Inciting Hatred and Violence’ begins in Jeddah

JEDDAH The Secretary-General of the Muslim World League Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa on Sunday hi ...

Journalists felicitated on National Press Day at Press Club of India

Journalists will have to fight together against attacks on press freedom: Siddharth Varadarajan Staff R ...


India and US to launch joint microwave remote sensing satellite (NISAR) for Earth observation

India and the US will launch the joint microwave remote sensing satellite for Earth observation in the coming ...

Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center plays crucial role in field of space: Jitendra Singh

AMN / WEB DESK Union Minister of State Jitendra Singh said that Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center( VSSC ...

@Powered By: Logicsart