Web Hosting

इंडियन आवाज़     19 Jun 2019 01:35:16      انڈین آواز

Reports of EVMs replacement completely false: EC


The Election Commission on Tuesday termed the allegations of EVM replacement as “completely false” saying that the alleged clips are of polling machines that are unused.
New Delhi: The Election Commission on Tuesday termed the allegations of EVM replacement as “completely false”, clarifying that alleged clips of EVMs movement pertain to the storage or movement of reserve unused EVMs.

“Complaints of alleged movement of EVMs, purportedly to replace polled EVMs in strongrooms, doing rounds in sections of media. Would like to unambiguously clarify that reports are absolutely false. Visuals seen viral on media do not pertain to any EVMs used during the polls,” EC said.

Earlier today, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar also slammed the opposition for questioning the authenticity of the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and Voter-verified paper audit trail (VVPATs) saying that the “baseless allegations” shows how nervous the opposition is ahead of May 23.


Opposition leaders to meet EC regarding tallying of VVPAT slips with EVM figures

Staff Reporter

Leaders of several opposition parties will meet Election Commission today in New Delhi and raise the issue of tallying VVPATs with EVM figures. They are demanding tallying of VVPAT slips with EVM figures in an entire Assembly constituency in case discrepancy is found in any polling booth.

Leaders from Congress, TDP, Left Parties, BSP, NCP, TMC, RJD and Aam Aadmi Party will be part of the delegation.

Meanwhile, ahead of their meeting with the Election Commission, opposition leaders are meeting to chalk about their strategy.

The meeting is being attended by Congress Leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ahmad Patel and Ashok Gahlot, TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu, Prof Ram Gopal Yadav of Samajwadi party, Derek O Brien of TMC, CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury, CPI general secretary S Sudhakar Reddy, NCP leader Praful Patel, RJD leader Manoj Jha, DMK leader Kanimozi, BSP Leader Satish Mishra , Aam Aadmi Party convener and Arvind Kejriwal and others.

The meeting comes two days ahead of the declaration of Lok Sabha polls results.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Eoin Morgan hits fourth fastest World Cup 100, most sixes in an ODI

  Eoin Morgan of England hit his century in 57 balls against Afghanistan on Tuesday, breaking the record f ...

FIH Series Finals: Indian Women’s Hockey team defeat Fiji to enter semifinals

India thrashed lowly Fiji 11-0 to storm into the semifinals of the FIH Women's Series Finals hockey tournament ...



116-year-old Japanese woman is oldest person in world

  AMN A 116-year-old Japanese woman has been honoured as the world's oldest living person by Guinness ...

Centre approves Metro Rail Project for City of Taj Mahal, Agra

6 Elevated and 7 Underground Stations along 14 KmTaj East Gate corridor 14 Stations all elevated along 15.40 ...


Bollywood expresses grief over death of Girish Karnad

AMN / MUMBAI Celebrated filmmaker Shyam Benegal, who directed Karnad in critically-acclaimed films "Manthan ...

Girish Karnad is no more

WEB DESK / Bengaluru Renowned actor, dramatist and Jnanpith awardee Girish Karnad passed away in Bengaluru to ...



Noted English writer Amitav Ghosh conferred Jnanpith award

    AMN Renowned English writer Amitav Ghosh was conferred the 54th Jnanpith award for the ...

Sahitya Akademi demands Rs 500/- from children for Workshop

Andalib Akhter / New Delhi India’s premier literary body, the Sahitya Akademi, which gives huge awards, p ...

@Powered By: Logicsart