इंडियन आवाज़     23 May 2024 08:50:49      انڈین آواز


(Last Updated On: )

Please click here to see the list of Padma Awardees

President Droupadi Murmu presents Padma Vibhushan for outstanding public service to Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu, the 13th Vice-President of India. His long and illustrious career as a leader spans over five decades. He made for himself a unique place in Indian politics with his simplicity and a humane approach towards governance.

Staff Reporter

The President of India, Droupadi Murmu presented   Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri Awards for the year 2024 at the Civil Investiture Ceremony-I held at Rashtrapati Bhavan today (April 22, 2024) in the presence of Vice President of India, Prime Minister, Union Minister for Home Affairs and other dignitaries. 


President Murmu confered Padma Vibhushan on former Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, and Bharatnatyam dancer Dr Padma Subrahmanyam. The Padma Vibhushan award was given to Bindeshwar Pathak posthumously. 

Actor Mithun Chakraborty and singer Usha Uthup received the Padma Bhushan award. The other Padma Bhushan awardees include philanthropist Dr Sitaram Jindal, cardiologist Dr Tejas Madhusudan Patel and former Uttar Pradesh Governor Ram Naik. 

The President also conferred Padma Bhushan on Actor Mithun Chakraborty for his dynamic performances and powerful portrayals in Bengali and Hindi cinema. Famous singer Usha Uthup in the field of Art, Dr. Chandreshwar Prasad Thakur for his lifetime contribution to research and policy on Kala Azar, Veteran Marathi Film Director Dattatray Ambadas Mayaloo alias Rajdutt in the field of Art, Veteran political leader and former Union Minister Ram Naik in the field of Public Affairs are among those who received Padma Bhushan.

Veteran tennis player Rohan Bopanna received the PadmaShri for his contribution in the field of Sports.

Renowned Wood Carving Craftsperson Ghulam Nabi Dar from Jammu and Kashmir, Tribal Farmer from Assam Sarbeswar Basumatary, surgeon Dr. Prema Dhanraj and an Ayurveda doctor Manohar Krishana Dole among others who received PadmaShri during the ceremony.

Talking to Akashvani, Padma Bhushan awardee and noted singer Usha Uthup expressed her happiness. She also lauded Akashwani saying that it has been an integral part of her life.

Padma Shri awardee, India’s para swimmer Satyendra Singh Lohia said, this is the visionary step of the Central Government that talented people from all walks of life are being chosen for this prestigious award.

Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories – Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The Awards are given in various disciplines and fields of activities including art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, and civil service. Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service, Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of high order and Padma Shri is awarded for distinguished service in any field.

Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories – Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri for the exceptional and distinguished service.

Please email us if you have any comment.


ایرانی صدر ابراہیم رئیسی اور وزیر خارجہ ہیلی کاپٹر حادثے میں جاں بحق

ایرانی میڈیا نے ہیلی کاپٹر حادثے میں صدر ابراہیم رئیسی کے جا ...

ایران: صدر رئیسی کے ہیلی کاپٹر کی تلاش کے لیے سرچ آپریشن جاری ہے۔

ایران: صدر رئیسی کے ہیلی کاپٹر کی تلاش کے لیے سرچ آپریشن جاری ...

ناہمواریوں کے باوجود عالمی معیشت میں بہتری کی امید

ترقی پذیر ممالک میں محنت کشوں کے معاوضوں میں اضافہ ہو رہا ہے ...


Singapore: PM urges married Singaporean couples to have babies during year of Dragon

AMN / WEB DESK Prime Minister of Singapore Lee Hsien Loong has urged married Singaporean couples to have ba ...

Himachal Pradesh receives large number of tourists for Christmas and New Year celebrations

AMN / SHIMLA All the tourist places of Himachal Pradesh are witnessing large number of tourists for the Ch ...

Indonesia offers free entry visa to Indian travelers

AMN / WEB DESK In a bid to give further boost to its tourism industry and bring a multiplier effect on the ...


Tamil Nadu CM Stalin attacks BJP over ‘saffron’ Doordarshan logo

AMN DMK Chief and Tamil Nadu chief minister MK Stalin on Sunday slammed the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) f ...

Broadcasting Authority Penalises TV Channels for Hate-Mongering, Orders Removal Of Offensive Programs

Broadcasting Authority (NBDSA) Orders Times Now Navbharat, News 18 India, Aaj Tak to Take Down 3 TV Shows ...


Uttarakhand: Portals of Badrinath Shrine open for Pilgrims

The portals of the famous Badrinath shrine, located in Chamoli district of Uttarakhand, opened this morning at ...

Mata Vaishno Devi Bhawan Decorated With Imported Flowers Ahead Of Navratri Festival

AMN In Jammu, ahead of the festivl of Navratri, Katra and Mata Vaishno Devi Bhawan is decorated with import ...

@Powered By: Logicsart