इंडियन आवाज़     30 Nov 2023 03:43:46      انڈین آواز

Mamta, Jaya retain power in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu

Mamatha-Jaya TIA


Ruling Trinamool Congress TMC of Mamata Banerjee today crushed the opposition in West Bengal. In Tamil Nadu’s AIADMK proved exit polls wrong and retained power in assembly elections. The BJP stormed to power in Assam while the Left made a comeback in Kerala amid a washout in West Bengal.

The Congress was the worst hit in the five-state election, losing power both in Assam, which it had ruled for 15 long years, and Kerala, where it was confident of winning its second term. The Congress-DMK alliance was, however, ahead of the ruling All India NR Congress in Puducherry.

In West Bengal, the TMC has crossed the two-third mark by winning 211 seats in the 294 member assembly. Congress- Left combine has taken 76 seats while BJP has bagged three seats. Independents and others have won four seats.

West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC Supremo, Mamta Banerjee has won from Bhabanipur Assembly Constituency. She defeated her nearest Congress rival Deepa Dasmunshi by over 25 thousand votes. West Bengal Speaker Biman Banerjee has won from Baruipur Paschim Constituency.

In Tamil Nadu, AIADMK Chief J. Jayalalitha has made history by becoming the first Chief Minister in 32 years to be voted back to power. Her party bagged 134 seats out of 232 seats that went to polls. The opposition DMK has won 89 seats while Congress has bagged 8 segments and IUML one.

Chief Minister Jayalalithaa has won Dr. RK Nagar constituency in Chennai. DMK Patriarch M. Karunanidhi has won for a record 13th time from his home turf of Tiruvarur defeating his nearest rival R.Panneerselvam of AIADMK.

Addressing party workers, Ms. Jayalalithaa called the victory a historic one and vowed to strive for the people with renewed vigour. She said the verdict has put a permanent end to the family politics of DMK. Overwhelmed by the result, AIADMK workers burst crackers and distributed sweets. A large number of party workers thronged Ms. Jayalalithaa’s Poes Garden residence area and the party headquarters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


حکومت نے غریب کلیان ان یوجنا کو یکم جنوری 2024 سے مزید پانچ سال کی مدت کیلئے بڑھا دیا ہے۔

@PIB_India حکومت نے پردھان منتری غریب کلیان ان یوجنا کو یکم جنو ...

اتراکھنڈ: سرنگ میں پھنسے 41 مزدوروں کو بحفاظت باہر نکال لیا گیا۔: UTTRAKHAND TUNNEL

اترکاشی ٹنل حادثے میں 17ویں دن ایک بڑی کامیابی ملی ہے۔ بالآخر ...

پاکستان چھوڑنے پر مجبور افغان مہاجرین Pakistan-Afghanistan

اقوام متحدہ کے عالمی پروگرام برائے خوراک (ڈبلیو ایف پی) نے کہ ...


Thailand announces visa-free entry for Indian citizens

Thailand is scrapping visas for scores of Indian tourists in order to rekindle the fire in its tourism sector. ...

World Tourism Day 2023: Govt Launches ‘Travel for LiFE’ Campaign

By Vinit Wahi On the occasion of World Tourism Day 2023 today, the Ministry of Tourism (Northern Region) u ...

Santiniketan inscribed on UNESCO World Heritage List

AMN / WEB DESK Santiniketan, the famed place where great poet Rabindranath Tagore built Visva-Bharati over ...


International forum on ‘Role of Media in Inciting Hatred and Violence’ begins in Jeddah

JEDDAH The Secretary-General of the Muslim World League Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa on Sunday hi ...

Journalists felicitated on National Press Day at Press Club of India

Journalists will have to fight together against attacks on press freedom: Siddharth Varadarajan Staff R ...


India and US to launch joint microwave remote sensing satellite (NISAR) for Earth observation

India and the US will launch the joint microwave remote sensing satellite for Earth observation in the coming ...

Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center plays crucial role in field of space: Jitendra Singh

AMN / WEB DESK Union Minister of State Jitendra Singh said that Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center( VSSC ...

@Powered By: Logicsart