Web Hosting

इंडियन आवाज़     22 May 2019 12:30:43      انڈین آواز

Gaurika starts favourite in sixth leg of Hero WPG Tour


Harpal Singh Bedi / Greater Noida

Gaurika Bishnoi, who claimed her first title of the season last week, starts strong favourite as the sixth leg of the Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour tees off on Wednesday at the Jaypee Greens in Greater Noida.

The sixth leg will carry a purse of Rs.Eight lakhs and has 21 professionals and four amateurs.

With the Hero WPG Tour having five different winners in the so far , Gaurika will have to battle it out with Amandeep Drall, who return to the domestic Tour after a superb Top-20 performance at the NSW Open in Australia.

Interestingly, Amandeep, considered one of the strongest and consistent players on the home Tour, is yet to win in her four starts this season.

Neha Tripathi, current leader on the Hero Order of Merit, and Gursimar Badwal have already registered one win each this year and both will be looking at becoming the first multiple winner of 2019. Ridhima Dilawari will be playing with similar ambitions.

As many as four young amateurs are in the field, along with veteran Vandana Agarwal, who makes an appearance after a long time.

Of the five winners this season, only Tvesa Malik’s name is missing. Tvesa, Diksha Dagar who had a Top-5 finish last week at NSW Open and Astha Madan are also not in the field. Their names are featuring in the Investec SA Women’s Open in South Africa from March 14.

On Wednesday, Vandana Agarwal and Siddhi Kapoor are paired in the opening two-ball, followed by amateur Nayanika Sanga in her maiden appearance and Ayesha Kapur in the second. The first three-ball features Ananya Datar, Amandeep Drall and Khushi Khanijau, while the fourth group has amateur Anika Varma, Gaurika Bishnoi and Smriti Mehra.

Amateur Natalii Gupta, Sifat Alag and Gursimar Badwal will play together in the fifth group, followed by Neha Tripathi, Ishvari Prasannaand Mehar Atwal in the sixth.

The seventh group comprises Suchitra Ramesh, Tavleen Batra and Anousha Tripathi. Ridhima Dilawari, Jyotsana Singh and Afshan Fatima make up the penultimate group, followed by the final grouping of Anisha Padukone, amateur Asmitha Sathish and Komal Chaudhary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Reports of EVMs replacement completely false: EC

AMN / NEW DELHI The Election Commission on Tuesday termed the allegations of EVM replacement as "completely ...

63 % polling recorded in the final phase of Lok Sabha polls

Voters have already exercised their franchise for 483 out of the total 542 parliamentary seats in previous six ...

India’s most controversial and longest Elections come to an end

Results on May 23  AMN / Elections for the 17th Lok Sabha concluded today after sweet and sour incident ...



Boxing: Mary Kom, Nikhat Zareen to meet in semis at 2nd India Open

  HSB / Guwahati Six-time world champion Mary Kom and Asian Championships bronze medallist Nikhat Zaree ...

Defender Suman Devi Thoudam to lead Junior Women’s Team

Harpal Singh Bedi / New Delhi Defender Suman Devi Thoudam will lead 18-member Indian Junior Women's Team for ...

14 Indian women enter semi finals of India Open International Boxing tournament

    Indian women boxer including M C Mary Kom stormed into the Semi-Finals in the second India O ...



116-year-old Japanese woman is oldest person in world

  AMN A 116-year-old Japanese woman has been honoured as the world's oldest living person by Guinness ...

Centre approves Metro Rail Project for City of Taj Mahal, Agra

6 Elevated and 7 Underground Stations along 14 KmTaj East Gate corridor 14 Stations all elevated along 15.40 ...


66th National Film Awards to be declared after General Elections

  The 66th National Film Awards will be declared after General Elections, 2019. In a statement, Informat ...

Priyanka Chopra is among world powerful women

AGENCIES   Bollywood actress Priyanka Chopra Jonas has joined international celebrities including Opr ...



Sahitya Akademi demands Rs 500/- from children for Workshop

Andalib Akhter / New Delhi India’s premier literary body, the Sahitya Akademi, which gives huge awards, p ...

Noted Urdu writer Jamil Jalibi is no more

  Author of the seminal history of Urdu literature, editor of one and founder of another eminent literar ...

@Powered By: Logicsart