इंडियन आवाज़     23 May 2024 08:21:03      انڈین آواز

Bihar: BJP to contest 17 Lok Sabha seats, JD(U) 16, LJP 5, HAM, RLM one each

(Last Updated On: )

Staff Reporter

The NDA today finalised its seat-sharing formula for Bihar. According to formula BJP will contest 17 constituencies, the JD(U) 16 and Chirag Paswan’s LJP (Ram Vilas) five, while rebuffing the claims of the LJP faction led by Union minister Pashupati Kumar Paras. Two other NDA allies — Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and Upendra Kushwaha-led Rashtriya Lok Morcha — will contest one seat each, Vinod Tawde, the BJP’s in-charge for elections in Bihar, told a press conference at the BJP headquarters here.

This will be the first time the BJP has got more seats than Chief Minister Nitish Kumar-led JD(U) in Bihar, underscoring the change in their equations after they joined hands a few months

Tawde expressed confidence that the National Democratic Alliance will win all 40 seats in the state. It had bagged 39 seats in 2019.

“The BJP will contest 17 out of the total 40 seats and the JD(U) will contest 16. The Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) will contest five seats,” Tawde told the presser jointly addressed by NDA allies from the state.

In 2019, both parties had contested 17 seats each while the then undivided Lok Janshakti Party headed by Ram Vilas Paswan had fought six. The BJP and the LJP had won all of their seats while the JD(U) had bagged 16. Bihar LJP (Ram Vilas) chief Raju Tiwari said Chirag Paswan will contest the Hajipur Lok Sabha seat, which has been given to the party under the seat-sharing pact for the 2024 polls.

Paswan’s estranged uncle Paras represents the constituency in the outgoing Lok Sabha and had been pitching his claim over it.

Bihar BJP chief Samrat Choudhary said that talks are going on with Paras, who has already expressed displeasure with the national party after it sealed its alliance with Paswan a few days back.

Tawde said the BJP will contest Paschim Champaran, Purvi Champaran, Aurangabad, Madhubani, Araria, Darbhanga, Muzaffarpur, Maharajganj, Saran, Ujiyarpur, Begusarai, Nawada, Patna Sahib, Patliputra, Arrah, Buxar and Sasaram.

The JD (U) will field its candidates from Valmikinagar, Sitamarhi, Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Madhepura, Gopalganj, Siwan, Bhagalpur, Banka, Munger, Nalanda, Jehanabad and Sheohar, he said.

The LJP (Ram Vilas) will field its candidates from Vaishali, Hajipur, Samastipur, Khagaria and Jamui Lok Sabha seats, Tawde, who is also BJP national general secretary, said.

Former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi-led HAM will join the fray from the Gaya Lok Sabha seat while the RLM from Karakat, he added.

All three main parties have been given the seats they won in 2019 barring a few changes to accommodate two smaller parties.

The Sheohar seat has gone from the BJP’s quota to the JD(U), while got Nawada from the LJP. The JD(U) ceded its claim on Karakat and Gaya, both of which it won in 2019, to accommodate the two new allies.

Please email us if you have any comment.


ایرانی صدر ابراہیم رئیسی اور وزیر خارجہ ہیلی کاپٹر حادثے میں جاں بحق

ایرانی میڈیا نے ہیلی کاپٹر حادثے میں صدر ابراہیم رئیسی کے جا ...

ایران: صدر رئیسی کے ہیلی کاپٹر کی تلاش کے لیے سرچ آپریشن جاری ہے۔

ایران: صدر رئیسی کے ہیلی کاپٹر کی تلاش کے لیے سرچ آپریشن جاری ...

ناہمواریوں کے باوجود عالمی معیشت میں بہتری کی امید

ترقی پذیر ممالک میں محنت کشوں کے معاوضوں میں اضافہ ہو رہا ہے ...


Singapore: PM urges married Singaporean couples to have babies during year of Dragon

AMN / WEB DESK Prime Minister of Singapore Lee Hsien Loong has urged married Singaporean couples to have ba ...

Himachal Pradesh receives large number of tourists for Christmas and New Year celebrations

AMN / SHIMLA All the tourist places of Himachal Pradesh are witnessing large number of tourists for the Ch ...

Indonesia offers free entry visa to Indian travelers

AMN / WEB DESK In a bid to give further boost to its tourism industry and bring a multiplier effect on the ...


Tamil Nadu CM Stalin attacks BJP over ‘saffron’ Doordarshan logo

AMN DMK Chief and Tamil Nadu chief minister MK Stalin on Sunday slammed the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) f ...

Broadcasting Authority Penalises TV Channels for Hate-Mongering, Orders Removal Of Offensive Programs

Broadcasting Authority (NBDSA) Orders Times Now Navbharat, News 18 India, Aaj Tak to Take Down 3 TV Shows ...


Uttarakhand: Portals of Badrinath Shrine open for Pilgrims

The portals of the famous Badrinath shrine, located in Chamoli district of Uttarakhand, opened this morning at ...

Mata Vaishno Devi Bhawan Decorated With Imported Flowers Ahead Of Navratri Festival

AMN In Jammu, ahead of the festivl of Navratri, Katra and Mata Vaishno Devi Bhawan is decorated with import ...

@Powered By: Logicsart