इंडियन आवाज़     08 Dec 2023 06:39:53      انڈین آواز

India adds 8-Gold to its medal’s tally on penultimate day of CWGames


At the Commonwealth Games, India bagged two more gold medal this evening. Boxer Vikas Krishan won gold in 75 kg category and Manika Batra created history by becoming the first Indian woman table tennis player to win a singles gold at the Commonwealth Games. Sharath Kamal and G Sathiyan settled for Silver in men’s doubles.

In all, India won eight gold, three silver and one bronze on the penultimate day of the games today.

In Boxing events, five-time world champion and Olympic Bronze-medallist M C Mary Kom began the day by winning a gold medal defeating Northern Ireland’s Kristina O’Hara 5-0 in the 48-kg final. Mary Kom also became first Indian woman boxer to win a Commonwealth Gold.

Gaurav Solanki joined the top-finishers’ group in the first set of finals, when he picked up the Gold in 52 kg. Amit Panghal (49kg) and Manish Kaushik (60kg) settled for Silver medals after losing closely-contested bouts.

In shooting, Sanjeev Rajput won the gold medal in the men’s 50 metre rifle 3 positions event with a games record at the Belmont Shooting Centre.

In Athletics, 20-year old Neeraj Chopra today became the first Indian javelin thrower to claim a gold medal at the Commonwealth Games, pulling off a season’s best effort of 86.47 metres in the final.

The day’s other gold came through Somveer when he won the men’s Freestyle wrestling event in 86 kg division. Vinesh Phogat added another Gold in Wrestling by winning the women’s 50 kg freestyle event.

In Badminton, it will be all-Indian women’s singles final as both Saina Naiwal and P V Sindhu won their respective singles semi-finals today. Newly-crowned world number one Kidambi Srikanth also entered the Men’s singles final.

However, in women’s hockey, India were outplayed by England by a 6-nil margin in the bronze-medal play off encounter. In Men’s Hockey, India was defeated by England 2-1 .

With a haul of 25 Gold, 14 Silver and 15 Bronze, India have maintained their third spot in the medal standings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Govt launches National Best Tourism Village Competition & Best Rural Homestay Competition 2024

AMN / WEB DESK Union Tourism Ministry has launched National Best Tourism Village Competition and the Nation ...

Thailand announces visa-free entry for Indian citizens

Thailand is scrapping visas for scores of Indian tourists in order to rekindle the fire in its tourism sector. ...

World Tourism Day 2023: Govt Launches ‘Travel for LiFE’ Campaign

By Vinit Wahi On the occasion of World Tourism Day 2023 today, the Ministry of Tourism (Northern Region) u ...


India-born media veteran Dr Samir Shah to be new BBC chairman

71-year-old Samir Shah has worked in UK broadcasting for over 40 years and is an Oxford University alumnus. ...

International forum on ‘Role of Media in Inciting Hatred and Violence’ begins in Jeddah

JEDDAH The Secretary-General of the Muslim World League Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa on Sunday hi ...


India and US to launch joint microwave remote sensing satellite (NISAR) for Earth observation

India and the US will launch the joint microwave remote sensing satellite for Earth observation in the coming ...

Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center plays crucial role in field of space: Jitendra Singh

AMN / WEB DESK Union Minister of State Jitendra Singh said that Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center( VSSC ...

@Powered By: Logicsart