Web Hosting

इंडियन आवाज़     20 Apr 2019 10:35:19      انڈین آواز

Bihar: Mahagathbandhan consolidates its position, RJD Gets 20 Congress 9 seats

Accommodates all parties that matter in Bihar


File Photo

Our Correspondent / PATNA

MAHAGATBANDHAN, the Grand Alliance today consolidated it position in Bihar with finalizing its seat-sharing plan and list of candidates in the state.

While the RJD will be contesting on 20 seats, the Congress will field its candidates for nine seats. Upendra Khuswaha’s RLSP Similarly, the Rashtriya Lok Samata RLSP will contest five seats, Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) on three seats, Vikashseel Insan Party (VIP) on three seats while the CPI-ML will contest on One seat from RJD quota.

According to reports, the talks between the Congress and RJD came under severe strain with the Congress demanding at least 11 out of Bihar’s 40. The 11-seat demand was already a climb down as it had initially wanted to contest on 15.

Contrary to expectations, Kanhaiya Kumar, who was hopeful of a ticket from Begusarai, has not found a place. However, the RJD has given one seat to CPI(ML) from its own share of seats.

Reports had earlier suggested that the RJD is likely to contest around 20 seats, leaving the rest to smaller allies such as the Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM), Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) and Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD).

“This is not an alliance of parties but a natural grouping aimed at fighting for social justice and preserve secularism,” RJD’s Rajya Sabha member Manoj Jha told a Press conference in Patna on Friday.

The four seats going to polling in the first phase, Gaya and Aurangabad have gone to HAM, Nawada will be contested by the RJD while RLSP will contest the Jamui seat. HAM chief Jitan Ram Majhi will contest from Gaya.

In 2014, BJP had won 22 seats in the state. This was followed by LJP’s six. JD (U), which had then fought the polls separately, had managed to win just two seats. The RJD had won four seats followed by the RLSP and Congress’s three and two seats, respectively. Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) had won one seat.

In 2014 general elections, the Congress bagged 8.56 percent seats with RJD getting 20.46 percent votes. The BJP and JD(U) on the other hand got 52.4 percent votes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Electioneering at its peak for 3rd phase of LS polls

AGENCIES Leaders across political spectrum holding rallies and roadshows for the third phase of Lok Sabha ele ...

66% polling in 2nd phase of Lok Sabha elections

  AMN Sixty-six per cent polling has been recorded for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections. Nin ...

Stage set for 2nd phase of Lok Sabha polls

  Correspondents / WEB DESK The election commission has completed all arrangements for the second phase ...



International Hockey Federation imposes fine on Pakistan

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has imposed a hefty fine of one lakh seventy-six thousand Euros on P ...

Bajrang regains top spot in world wrestling rankings

India's Bajrang Punia has regained the world number one spot in the men's 65-kilogram freestyle category ranki ...

Djokovis and Nadal enter into Monte Carlo Masters quarter-finals

top seed Novak Djokovic and 11-time champion Rafael Nadal enter into the Monte Carlo Masters quarter-finals la ...



116-year-old Japanese woman is oldest person in world

  AMN A 116-year-old Japanese woman has been honoured as the world's oldest living person by Guinness ...

Centre approves Metro Rail Project for City of Taj Mahal, Agra

6 Elevated and 7 Underground Stations along 14 KmTaj East Gate corridor 14 Stations all elevated along 15.40 ...


Priyanka Chopra is among world powerful women

AGENCIES   Bollywood actress Priyanka Chopra Jonas has joined international celebrities including Opr ...

Documentary on Menstruation stigma ‘Period’ wins Oscar

  WEB DESK A Netflix documentary Period. End of sentence, on the menstruation taboo in rural India has ...



Noted Urdu writer Jamil Jalibi is no more

  Author of the seminal history of Urdu literature, editor of one and founder of another eminent literar ...

Telugu poet K Siva Reddy selected for prestigious Saraswati Samman

  AMN Noted Telugu poet K Siva Reddy has been selected for the prestigious Saraswati Samman, 2018 for h ...

@Powered By: Logicsart