इंडियन आवाज़     02 Dec 2023 01:58:50      انڈین آواز

Elections for 4 states, Puducherry announced, polls to begin from April 4

Chief Election Commissioner, Dr. Nasim Zaidi addressing at the inauguration of the “Matdaata Mahotsav, in New Delhi.

Our Correspondent /

Assembly elections in West Bengal, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Kerala will be held between April 4 and May 16. Votes in all five states and one union territory will be counted on May 19.

The Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi today announced the dates of polling in four states and Union Territory of Puducherry.

Elections will be held in two phases for 120 constituencies in Assam, viz., April 4 and 11.

Elections for 126 assembly seat in Assam elections will be held in two phases on April 4 and April 11. In West Bengal, elections will be held in six phases, but seven days of polling – voting on April 4 and April 11 will be counted as a single phase, the poll panel said. Voting will also be held on April 17, April 21, April 25, April 30 and May 5. West Bengal has 294 seats.

Kerala will have elections in a single phase, with all 140 constituencies voting on May 16. Tamil Nadu and Puducherry will also vote in a single phase on May 16. Tamil Nadu has 234 seats and the union territory of Puducherry has 30 assembly seats.

The model code of conduct is in effect with immediate effect, the poll panel said. That means the Centre and governments in these states cannot make policy announcements from today to ensure a level playing field for all parties.

Assam will go to poll in two phases on 4th and 11th of April. Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry will go to poll in a single phase on 16th May. The Counting for all Assembly Constituencies in all five States will be held on 19th of May. With the announcement of the poll schedule, the model code of conduct has come into force. Mr Zaidi said, more than adequate number of Central Paramilitary Forces will be deployed at all polling locations in the states.

He said, the commission is committed to curb the use of money and muscle power in the poll bound states and for this it has taken several initiatives in this direction. He said, this time in the electronic voting machines, the commission had decided to display photos of the contesting candidates to dispel confusion about the identities of the candidates, as many have similar names. This time a symbol of NOTA will also be provided in the EVMs.

In West Bengal, Trinamool Congress, TMC, president, Mamata Banerjee today expressed displeasure over the Election Commission’s decision of spreading the voting of State Assembly elections into six phases. Announcing the TMC candidates’ list for the elections from her residence in Kolkata, just after the CEC announced the schedule, Ms. Banerjee said termed the schedule as unfair for West Bengal.

She pointed out that in Tamil Nadu, having 234 seats, and Kerala voting will be over in day, and in Assam, a disturbed state, voting will take only two days; while a too long phase of voting schedule had been announced for her state. Ms. Banerjee, however, added that she respected the Election Commission’s prerogative and would not comment against it.

In Assam, several political parties including the BJP, AIUDF, Bodoland People’s Front and Asom Gana Parishad among others have welcomed the poll schedules. Bodoland People’s Front MP Biswajit Daimary has thanked the Election Commission for its decision to hold polls before the Rongali Bihu festival. Polling in Assam will be held in two phases on 4th and 11th of April.

In Puducherry, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Dr. V Candavelou today requested all political parties, candidates and officials to abide by Model Code of Conduct which has come in to force in the Union Territory with announcement of elections. Speaking to media, he said the Office of the CEO is making all arrangements for free and fair elections in the Territory. Puducherry has a total of 9,27,665 voters in its electoral roll.

Elections are being held in all the 30 constituencies in the four territories of the UT in a single phase on May 16th. Puducherry has 23 constituencies followed by Karaikal with 5 constituencies and Mahe and Yanam with one each.

CEO also said that Commission has identified 144 sensitive polling booths of the total 930 polling booths in the state. Puducherry being a expenditure sensitive state, special arrangements are being made to check money power, he said. Puducherry Public Spaces disfigurement (Prevention) Act will be implemented in letter and spirit. CEO requested all political parties to avoid putting up publicity material in public places.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


وزیراعظم کی اقوام متحدہ کے سکریٹری جنرل سے ملاقات

وزیر اعظم جناب نریندر مودی نے اقوام متحدہ کے سکریٹری جنرل (یو ...

وزیراعظم سی اوپی- 28 میں بھارت کے ترقیاتی ماڈل کو اجاگر کیا-COP28

PMO India وزیراعظم نریندر مودی نے کہا ہے کہ بھارت آب و ہوا کی تب ...


Thailand announces visa-free entry for Indian citizens

Thailand is scrapping visas for scores of Indian tourists in order to rekindle the fire in its tourism sector. ...

World Tourism Day 2023: Govt Launches ‘Travel for LiFE’ Campaign

By Vinit Wahi On the occasion of World Tourism Day 2023 today, the Ministry of Tourism (Northern Region) u ...

Santiniketan inscribed on UNESCO World Heritage List

AMN / WEB DESK Santiniketan, the famed place where great poet Rabindranath Tagore built Visva-Bharati over ...


International forum on ‘Role of Media in Inciting Hatred and Violence’ begins in Jeddah

JEDDAH The Secretary-General of the Muslim World League Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa on Sunday hi ...

Journalists felicitated on National Press Day at Press Club of India

Journalists will have to fight together against attacks on press freedom: Siddharth Varadarajan Staff R ...


India and US to launch joint microwave remote sensing satellite (NISAR) for Earth observation

India and the US will launch the joint microwave remote sensing satellite for Earth observation in the coming ...

Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center plays crucial role in field of space: Jitendra Singh

AMN / WEB DESK Union Minister of State Jitendra Singh said that Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center( VSSC ...

@Powered By: Logicsart