इंडियन आवाज़     07 Jul 2020 06:12:11      انڈین آواز

Sansad Ratna Awards 2020 Announced

Performance Review of Parliamentarians Strengthens Democracy – Arjun Ram Meghwal

T N ASHOK / New Delhi

Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, Mr. Arjun Ram Meghwal has observed that recognition and performance review of Parliamentarians by the civil society helps strengthen democracy, during the presentation of the list of MPs nominated for the 11th edition of the Sansad Ratna Awards 2020.

When ‘We the people’ elect the Parliamentarians and legislators, they have the moral responsibility to monitor the performance of the elected representatives, said the Minister, who is the Chairman of the Jury Committee of Sansad Ratna Awards.

Mr. N. K. Premachandran MP and Mr. Shrirang Appa Barne MP are the other Jury Members. All the three Jury Members have been outstanding Parliamentarians and recipients of the Sansad Ratna Awards in the previous Lok Sabha. The Sansad Ratna Awards were instituted in 2010 by a Chennai-based NGO Prime Point Foundation, and the eMagazine PreSense, following the suggestions of Dr APJ Abdul Kalam (former President of India) to honour the perfection-oriented Parliamentarians. He himself launched the first Awards function in May 2010. The awardees are selected by a Jury Committee of eminent Parliamentarians, observing absolute transparency based on the performance parameters provided by the Lok Sabha Secretariat and PRS India.

According to Mr. K. Srinivasan, Chairman of the Prime Point Foundation and Sansad Ratna Awards Committee, the Jury Committee nominated three Parliamentarians for ‘Sansad Maha Ratna Award’ based on their sustained quality of performance in the 16th Lok Sabha. This is a prestigious award presented once in five years.

Eight Lok Sabha Members, two Rajya Sabha Members and one Departmentally Related Standing Committee will be receiving the Sansad Ratna Awards 2020 for their performance in the 17th Lok Sabha. The actual date for the awards’ presentation event will be notified after normalcy is restored in the country, after tackling the pandemic COVID-19.

Sansad Maha Ratna Awards

Mr. Bhartruhari Mahtab (BJD, Cuttack, Odisha), Mrs. Supriya Sule (NCP, Baramati, Maharashtra) and Mr. Shrirang Appa Barne (Shiv Sena, Maval, Maharashtra) will be receiving the coveted ‘Sansad Maha Ratna Award’ for their sustained qualitative performance in the 16th Lok Sabha. This Award is presented once in five years.

Standing Committee

The Departmentally Related Standing Committee on Agriculture receives the Sansad Ratna Award 2020 as the best performing committee. The Committee was selected based on the reports presented to Parliament, supported by the number of sittings. Mr. P C Gaddigoudar (BJP, Bagalkot Karnataka) is the Chairman of the Committee.

Lok Sabha

Eight sitting Lok Sabha Members will be receiving the Sansad Ratna Awards 2020 under various categories, based on their performance during the first year of the 17th Lok Sabha.

Ms. Supriya Sule (NCP, Baramati, Maharashtra) gets the Sansad Ratna Award 2020 for her overall performance in Initiated Debates, Questions and Private Members Bills in the first year of the 17th Lok Sabha.

Dr. Subhash Ramrao Bhamre (BJP, Dhule, Maharashtra), Dr. Heena Gavit (BJP, Nandurbar, Maharashtra) and Dr. Amol Ramsing Kolhe, (NCP, Shirur, Maharashtra) will be receiving the Sansad Ratna Award 2020 for Questions, Women and First-time MPs categories respectively.

Dr. Shashi Tharoor (INC, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala), Dr. Nishikant Dubey (BJP, Godda, Jharkhand), Mr. Ajay Misra (BJP, Kheri, Uttar Pradesh) and Mr. Ram Mohan Naidu (TDP, Srikakulam, Andhra Pradesh) have been nominated for the ‘Jury Committee Special Award’ for their overall qualitative performance and individual efforts.

Rajya Sabha

Mr. Vishambhar Prasad Nishad (Samajwadi Party, Uttar Pradesh) and Ms. Chhaya Verma (INC, Chhattisgarh) have been nominated for their overall performance in Rajya Sabha during the first year coinciding with Lok Sabha. This category of honouring the sitting MPs of Rajya Sabha has been introduced this year.

Ms. Supriya Sule, accepting the honour of Sansad Maha Ratna said, “I am humbled to be nominated for the Sansad Maha Ratna award this year. This award symbolises the immense responsibility bestowed upon me and the people’s expectations I am to fulfil in coming years. I pledge to continue to work for the betterment of all our people.”

As the Chairperson of the Agriculture Committee, Mr P C Gaddigoudar said, “I am happy and delighted to receive this honourable award initiated by our Late President Dr.A.P.J Abdul Kalam. I am very thankful to all the committee members for actively participating in all meetings and providing valuable inputs and suggestions at the appropriate time to achieve this feat.
On behalf of the Agriculture Committee Members and stakeholders, we are elated to receive this prestigious Sansad Ratna Award”.

Mr Bhartruhari Mahtab, accepting the honour of Sansad Maha Ratna Award said, “Recognising the performance of the Members of Parliament by the Civil Society is highly commendable in this time when cynicism is ruling the roost in political life and there is all round pessimism relating to politics. The Sansad Maha Ratna Award is a unique endeavour, not only recognising the genuine work of Members of Parliament but also to attract the youths of this age towards public life. This also encourages MPs to work for the people of this country. This definitely gives a boost and also reminds us that there are some in this society who are taking note of our actions inside the Parliament. I feel humbled on being conferred the Sansad Maha Ratna, which is presented once in five years, and also thank Prime Point Foundation and the Sansad Ratna Award Committee who have taken into account the performance”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Badminton star Carolina Marin offers her gold medals to medical professionals

Carolina Marin spent lockdown in Huelva with her mother, perhaps the first long spell spent at home since she ...

SPORTS: Foreign and Indian coaches will now have a four-year contract

WEB DESK Foreign and Indian coaches for training Indian Athletes will now have a four-year contract in alig ...



جناح کے دو قومی نظریے کے سخت مخالف تھے عبدالقیوم انصاری

ولادت : یکم جولائی 1905ء ۔ وفات : 18 جنوری 1973ئ مجاہدآزادی عبدال ...

کووڈ-19 کے وبائی دورمیں اردو میڈیا کا صحت مند کردار

قومی اردو کونسل کے زیر اہتمام’وبائی دور میں اردو میڈیا کا کر ...

خواجہ کی شان میں گستاخی : شرم تم کو مگر نہیں آتی

!خواجہ کی شان میں گستاخی تم کو بربادی تک نہ پہنچا دے مولانا ...


India poised to emerge as world’s largest electronics and mobile manufacturing country

AMN India is poised to emerge as the world’s largest electronics and mobile manufacturing country. Union ...

Bill Gates leaves Microsoft

Bill Gates and wife Melinda WEB DESK Microsoft Co-founder Bill Gates has left the Board of directors of ...


All centrally protected monuments open in non- containment zones

AMN Government has decided to open all the Centrally protected monuments by completely abiding with safety ...

Tourism Ministry conducts webinar on ‘Vedic Food and Spices of India’

WEB DESK To showcase the benefits about our country’s ancient form of health science, Tourism Ministry co ...

@Powered By: Logicsart

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!