इंडियन आवाज़     03 Oct 2023 11:58:06      انڈین آواز

Nitish gets Massive Mandate for Bihar Development

TIA Correspondent

PATNA/NEW DELHI: In rare show of democratic power the JD(U)-BJP combine led by Nitish Kumar has swept the Assembly elections in Bihar. The combine won more than three-fourth seats in 243 member Assembly. All the 243 results are available now and the JDU – BJP combine has bagged 206 with JDU alone winning 115 seats just 7 seats short of majority. BJP bagged 91 seats. The result is being seen as mandate for development in the state. The results have come as a major shock to RJD-LJP combine and the Congress.
The RJD-LJP alliance and Congress have fared badly. RJD was way behind getting only 22 and LJP got 3. Congress won 4 seats and others 8. Nitish Kumar will be sworn in as the Chief Minister for the second term on Friday.

In Banka Parliamentary by-poll in the state, Independent candidate Putul Kumari, widow of former MP Digvijay Singh, is leading by more than 30,000 votes after 16 rounds of counting over her nearest RJD rival Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav. Congress has extended moral support to her. The seat fell vacant following the death of sitting MP Digvijay Singh.

Among the prominent winners are RJD State President Abdul Bari Siddiqui, Renu Devi, Nand Kishore Yadav both of BJP, Hari Narayan Singh and Brishen Patel of JD(U), and State JD(U) Chief Vijay Kumar Chaudhary. Prominent losers include State President of LJP and brother of Party leader Ram Vilas Paswan  Pashupati Kumar Paras, State Congress President Mehboob Ali,  JD(U) Minister Ram Nath Thakur and former Union Minister Kanti Singh of the RJD.

The BJP Minister Renu Devi who defeated Congress nominee Madan Mohan Tiwari by about 15,000 votes in Bettiah constituency.BJP candidate Chandra Mohan Rai defeated his nearest rival BSP’s Ejaj Hussain by over 13,000 votes from Chanpatia Assembly constituency. In Ramnagar reserved constituency, Bhagirathi Devi also of BJP has been declared elected. In Narkatiaganj, Satish Chandra Dubey of BJP defeated his nearest rival Om Verma of the Congress by a margin of about 10,000 votes.
In Raxaul, Dr. Ajay Kumar Singh of BJP defeated Rajnanadan Rai of LJP by about 6,000 votes. JD(U) candidate Prabhat Ranjan Singh has won the Bagaha seat defeating BSP’s Mohd. Kamran by about 20,000 votes, Manorama Prasad of JD(U) has been elected from Nautan seat defeating CPI leader Gallu Choudhary by about 6,000 votes while Rajesh Kumar also of JD(U) has been elected from Valmiki Nagar defeating an Independent candidate Deep Narain Mahato by over 14,000 votes. In Nalanda constituency, Shrawan Kumar of JD(U) has been declared elected. In Baikunthpur constituency, Manjeet Kumar Singh of JD(U) has been elected.

In Sikta Assembly Constituency, Dilip Verma, Independent has defeated his nearest rival Fakruddin, also Independent by over 5000 votes. Another Independent candidate Vinay Bihari has won the Lauria seat beating his nearest rival Pradip Singh of JD(U) by over 5,000 votes. Ramanand Yadav of RJD has won the Fatuha seat. Darauli reserved and Kesaria seats have gone in favour of BJP while Bihar Sharief has been bagged by JD(U).

The polling percentage was higher this time 52.43 percent as compared to 45.85 percent in the last Assembly elections in 2005.
The Congress is the only party which has contested all the 243 constituencies followed by BSP 239. The NDA constituents-BJP contested 102 seats while Janata Dal (United) 141. The RJD and its ally LJP contested 168 and 75 seats respectively. CPI contested 56 seats and CPM 30.

The Chief Minister  Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi, State BJP President Dr. C.P.Thakur and RJD Chief Lalu Prasad Yadav are among prominent political leaders who did not contest the Assembly elections.

Reacting on the poll results, BJP President Nitin Gadkari said the voters have cast their votes in favour of the good work done by the Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. Another party leader Venkaiah Naidu said, the victory for the NDA in Bihar was for development of the State. Speaking to reporters outside Parliament, he said the outcome has rejected the argument of the Congress leaders that the central funds to the state were misused or diverted.

Congress leader Sonia Gandhi said it was a deliberate decision of the party to go it alone in the Bihar polls.

Congratulating Nitish Kumar and the BJP for their extremely good show in the assembly elections in Bihar, the Home Minister Mr. P. Chidambaram has said that if the development argument has prevailed then we should be happy. Talking to reporters outside Parliament wished them best in running progressive and forward looking governance.

Accepting the outcome of the assembly polls in Bihar, the Congress said the party fought the elections in the state on its own and there were difficulties in doing so. The party spokesperson Manish Tewari said that the Congress is trying to revive the party in the state and will continue to do so. Nitish Kumar will be sworn in as the Chief Minister for the second time on Friday.

The latest tally:


 Results Dclared : 243

JD(U) – 115

BJP – 91

RJD – 22

LJP – 3



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


کورونا ویکسین ٹیکنالوجی تیار کرنے والوں کو طب کا نوبیل انعام

نوبیل کمیٹی نے آج اس کا اعلان کیا۔ کمیٹی نے سوشل میڈیا سائٹ پ ...

بہار سرکار نے ذات پر مبنی سروے کی تفصیلات جاری کی

پسماندہ طبقات اور انتہائی پسماندہ طبقات کی تعداد ریاست کی آب ...

لوک سبھا اسپیکر نے صفائی مہم میں حصہ لیا۔

،پارلیمنٹ کے احاطے میں صفائی مہم کا انعقاد کیا گیا۔، نئی ...


World Tourism Day 2023: Govt Launches ‘Travel for LiFE’ Campaign

By Vinit Wahi On the occasion of World Tourism Day 2023 today, the Ministry of Tourism (Northern Region) u ...

Santiniketan inscribed on UNESCO World Heritage List

AMN / WEB DESK Santiniketan, the famed place where great poet Rabindranath Tagore built Visva-Bharati over ...

Bindeshwar Pathak; India’s Toilet Crusader

Obituary Pathak stood as a beacon of hope for countless individuals across India. His pioneering efforts i ...


Delhi Police raids journalists linked to NewsClick

AGENCIES The Delhi Police Tuesday conducted raids at at least 35 locations, including houses of seven journ ...

Grand arrangement for media to cover G 20 Summit

ANDALIB AKHTER FROM G20 MEDIA CENTRE The rising power of India can be sense in the G 20 Summit as around 10 ...


Katalin Kariko and Drew Weissman win 2023 Nobel Prize in Medicine

The 2023 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine has been jointly awarded to Hungarian-American biochemist Katal ...

India’s Solar Mission Aditya L1 successfully escaped sphere of Earth’s influence: ISRO

AMN India’s Solar Mission Aditya L1 successfully escaped the sphere of Earth’s influence today by trav ...

@Powered By: Logicsart