इंडियन आवाज़     06 Dec 2023 06:45:08      انڈین آواز

Assam: AIUDF announces names of candidates for 16 seats

Assam Polls: Ajmal releases 1st list of candidates; fields non-Muslims alsoAIUDF has announced its candidates for 16 seats on Saturday.The party has fielded Dilip Nath at Tezpur, Gayatri Bora Kalita at Amguri seat , Abdul Aziz at Badarpur and Nijamuddin Choudhury from Algapur assembly seat.

The party is likely to contest in 75 seats.The Congress Election Committee has also held a meeting in Guwahati on Saturday.

In the list of 16 candidates, there are 10 Muslims and 6 non-Muslims. By giving tickets to non-Muslim candidates, as the party has done in the previous elections also, AIUDF and party supremo Ajmal have tried to emerge as a mainstream party which needs votes of all sections of the society.

AIUDF had played a major role in the defeat of Congress party in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. AIUDF had won just three seats — Dhubri, Barpeta and Karimganj — and finished as runner-up at several other seats. It had won 18 seats in the polls for 126-seat Assembly in 2011 – two of its winning candidates were non-Muslims.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Govt launches National Best Tourism Village Competition & Best Rural Homestay Competition 2024

AMN / WEB DESK Union Tourism Ministry has launched National Best Tourism Village Competition and the Nation ...

Thailand announces visa-free entry for Indian citizens

Thailand is scrapping visas for scores of Indian tourists in order to rekindle the fire in its tourism sector. ...

World Tourism Day 2023: Govt Launches ‘Travel for LiFE’ Campaign

By Vinit Wahi On the occasion of World Tourism Day 2023 today, the Ministry of Tourism (Northern Region) u ...


International forum on ‘Role of Media in Inciting Hatred and Violence’ begins in Jeddah

JEDDAH The Secretary-General of the Muslim World League Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa on Sunday hi ...

Journalists felicitated on National Press Day at Press Club of India

Journalists will have to fight together against attacks on press freedom: Siddharth Varadarajan Staff R ...


India and US to launch joint microwave remote sensing satellite (NISAR) for Earth observation

India and the US will launch the joint microwave remote sensing satellite for Earth observation in the coming ...

Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center plays crucial role in field of space: Jitendra Singh

AMN / WEB DESK Union Minister of State Jitendra Singh said that Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center( VSSC ...

@Powered By: Logicsart