Web Hosting

इंडियन आवाज़     20 Aug 2019 06:28:06      انڈین آواز

Aabhishek extends his lease over  Desert Storm title,Adrian wins Moto Title

By Harpal Singh Bedi
 Dominating each leg of the grueling Desert Storm defending champion Aabhishek Mishra extended his lead over the  title for the fourth year in row in Jaisalmer on Saturday.
 In the process the 30-year-old from Jaipur became only the third driver to defend the Storm, an FMSCI-approved event, (besides h six-time winner Sunny Sidhu and Suresh Rana) With co-driver Srikanth Gowda by his side, he conquered the heat, the desert and one of the strongest fields ever in 9 hours 21 minutes and 45 seconds for a commendable victory.
In the Moto Category, Adrian Metge of Team TVS Racing was equally commanding, winning the country’s longest motorbike rally with a cumulative time of 6 hours 13 minutes and 25 seconds. Ankur Chauhan (and co-driver Prakash M) was the other big winner, taking the Endure Category.
CS Santosh breathed fire down Adrian Metge’s neck in each of the stages, surpassing him a few times too, to finish second in the Moto Category. 
The Hero Motorsports front man will rue the second day which handed Metge a huge lead and proved to be impossible to bridge in the final analysis. TVS Racing’s Abdul Wahid Tanveer, who clocked a cumulative timing of 06:35:28, took the other place on the podium.  
“This is an incredibly special win for us,” Aabhishek Mishra, who drove  his Maruti Vitara smartly, said, after his victory. “I have won the title in the four-wheel category four times and once in the motorbike category. But this year was the toughest due to the conditions as also because of the competition, which attracted all the top drivers, teams and manufacturers in the country,” he added.
Driving a Toyota Fortuner for the first time in a rally, Chandigarh’s Samrat Yadav (and co-driver Kunal Kashyap) grabbed the second position in 09:41:34 by showing remarkable poise and consistency over the scorching four days. Arunachal Pradesh’s Lakhpa Tsering (co-driver V Venu Rameshkumar) overcame a slow start to corner the third position in his Polaris RZR 1000.
The Army Team, returning to competitive rally after a long hiatus, will be proud of their show in the Thar Desert. Capt AVS Gill (co-driver Diwakar Kalia) claimed the fourth place in the Extreme Category while Aman Katoch (Siddhartha Nandal), Parth Bharadwaj (Mohit Bisht) and Sanjay Jadon (Sahil Dua) took the third, fourth and fifth places in the Endure Category.
Aabhishek Mishra and co-driver Srikanth Gowda from Team Sparky’s Garage have emerged as the ultimate champions of Xtreme Category (cross country rally for cars) at Rally Desert Storm 2019 with cumulative time of 9 hours 21 minutes 45 seconds. 
The three champions — Mishra, Metge and Chauhan – and other podium finishers, category winners and special award winners, were felicitated at a glittering prize distribution ceremony at the Jaisalmer Marriott Resorts & Spa late in the evening.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Watan – A patriotic Song by DD



Bangladeshi novelist Rizia Rahman passes away

AMN Renowned Bangladeshi novelist and the Ekushey Padak winning author Rizia Rahman passed away today in D ...

International Urdu Day Awards announced

  Staff Reporter / NEW DELHI The annual International Urdu Day Awards have been announced. ...


Hima Das, Mohammad Anas win gold at Athleticky Mitink Reiter event

Top Indian sprinters Hima Das and Mohammad Anas have won a gold each in 300m races at the Athleticky Mitink Re ...

Meiraba triumphs at Yonex Sunrise All-India Junior Badminton Tournament

HSB / New Delhi Maisnam Meiraba continued his dominance in the junior circuit while both Tanisha Crasto an ...

Squash: Top seed Urwashi enters quarters; Baitha upsets Ranjit

Mumbai Top seed Urwashi Joshi of Maharashtra, playing her first game of the tournament, overcame a shaky ...



1 Kg Of Rare Assam Tea Sold For Rs. 70,500

AMN / GUWAHATI A rare variety of tea in Assam was auctioned for Rs. 70, 501 a kg at the Guwahati Tea Auctio ...

Tea at Rs 50,000 per kg in Assam

AMN / GUWAHATI Believe it or not a special variety of Assam tea was sold for Rs 50,000 per kg at the Guwa ...


Great Musician Khayyam Passes Away

PM Modi Pays Tribute He Composed most beautiful song “ voh subah kabhi to aayegi" AMN /Mumbai ...

Veteran actor Vidya Sinha dies at 71

AMN Veteran actor Vidya Sinha died in Mumbai on Thursday morning after suffering from lung and heart disord ...


@Powered By: Logicsart