इंडियन आवाज़     25 Jun 2018 03:57:27      انڈین آواز

Stalemate continue over result of Rajya Sabha polls in Gujarat

Counting held up as Congress and BJP rush to poll panel


Counting of votes for 3 Rajya Sabha seats in Gujrat has been put on hold following Congress allegations that two of its rebel MLAs Raghavji Patel and Bholabhai Gohil showed their ballot papers to the presiding officer of the BJP.  Congress termed it as  violation of the elections rules.

amit shah ahmad patel

Both the BJP and Congress have knocked the doors of Election Commission in New Delhi with their arguments over controversy in just concluded elections for three Rajya Sabha seats from Gujarat.

The BJP demanded the immediate counting of votes while the Congress demanded rejection of two disputed ballot papers of its MLAs.

A BJP delegation led by Union Minister Arun Jaitley met the Commission in this regard. Briefing reporters after meeting the poll panel, Law Minister Ravi Shakar Prasad who was also the part of the delegation said, the delegation has requested the Commission to reject the Congress plea of quashing the votes of two Congress legislators who allegedly showed their votes publically.


 40m40 minutes ago

  2h2 hours ago

Congress cannot put undue pressure on EC. If Congress party goes to EC the third time, so will we.
RS Prasad

Mr Prasad said the Congress is making desperate attempts in the face of imminent defeat.

Union Minister Piyush Goel said, the Congress is crying foul after seeing possible defeat in the polls. He said, since the start of the polling of votes till closing , the Congress has raised no objection.

Earlier, two delegations of Congress approached the Commission complaining violation of voting procedure in the election. Senior Congress leader P Chidambaram demanded the Election Commission should reject two ballot papers for violation of voting procedures in the election.

Talking to media after submitting a memorandum to the Commission, Mr Chidambaram cited its decision of cancellation of vote of Congress MLA in Rajya Sabha polls in Haryana last year.

Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala said that his party wants the election commission to cancel the votes of the two MLAs.

The counting of votes will begin only after the direction from Election commission in New Delhi.

Earlier, today polling was held for 3 Rajya Sabha seats in Gujarat. State Chief Electoral Officer B B Swain said all 176 MLAs cast their vote. BJP President Amit Shah, Union Minister Smriti Irani and Balwantsinh Rajput and Congress leader Ahmed Patel are in the fray.

The election had been necessitated following the completion of the tenure of three existing members, Union Minister Smriti Irani and Dilip Pandya of BJP and Ahmed Patel of Congress.

Total 176 eligible MLAs had cast their votes out of 182 member Gujarat assembly. 6 Congress MLAs had resigned earlier from the membership.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



ADB to fund Rs 1900 crores for development of Tourism in Himachal Pradesh

By Vinit Wahi Department of Economic Affairs, Union Ministry of Finance, has approved a Tourism Infrastructur ...

Air India marks 70 years since 1st India-UK flight

  Air India is marking 70 years since its first flight took off from Mumbai to London in June 1948, wh ...

@Powered By: Logicsart