COVID-19: 26,97,328 recovered worldwide
US protesters take to streets defying curfews
Coronavirus: Death toll rises to 3,76,320 worldwide
Cyclone Nisarga intensifies as it approaches Mumbai
Italy reopens borders to Europe with no quarantine
Black Lives Matter Paris protest marred by tension
Protesters in US streets for 8th night

इंडियन आवाज़     04 Jun 2020 09:48:00      انڈین آواز

Hockey: Australia defeat India 5-2 for their second successive win

India suffered their second successive defeat as they lost to host Australia 2-5 in their fifth and final match of the tour at the Perth Hockey Stadium on Friday.

India had lost to Australia 0-4 in their previous fixture.

For Australia’s Trent Mitton(11’, 24’), Flynn Ogilvie (3’), Blake Govers (28’) and Tim Brand (43’) were the goal scorers . While Nilakanta Sharma (12’) and Rupinderpal Singh (53’) reduced the margin for the visitors.

India had the opening chance in the match, but it was saved by Eddie Ockenden, while on the counter Australian efforts were foiled by goalkeeper Krishan Pathak

Australia took the lead in the 3rd minute as Flynn Ogilvie managed to deflect the ball home Five minutes later Indians earned a penalty corner , but the resulting execution was wasted as Nilakanta Sharma could not trap the ball properly.

The hosts launched a blistering counter attack but Rupinderpal frustrated the move. Australia earned their first Penalty Corner in the 10th minute, but the shot was blocked by the onrushing defenders.

However, a minute later Australians took advantage of defensive lapse and Trent Mitton found himself in space on the left flank and fired the ball past Pathak to make it 2-0.

Indians were quick to respond as Gursahibjit played a pass into the circle from the left flank, and midfielder Nilakanta Sharma managed deflected the ball into the cave (1-2) in 12th minute.

The Indian had a chance to equalize in the 19th minute which was muffed as Mandeep Singh’s deflection went over the bar. The visitors maintained possession in the second quarter and had another chance in the 23rd minute when Vivek Sagar Prasad played a quick ball into the circle, but Mandeep could not collect it.

In the ensuing counter Trent Mitton found himself in a position on the right side of the striking circle as Joshua Simmonds relayed a measured pass to him, and Mitton sent the ball past PR Sreejesh into the back of the net to make it 3-1 after 24 minutes.

In the 29th minute, Gurinder Singh was y fined for a push inside the 16-yard line by the umpire, and the resulting Penalty Corner saw Blake Govers fire a shot past PR Sreejesh’s left side into the back of the net to make it 4-1 at the half-time break.

The third quarter saw Australia maintain possession but were not able to create any opportunities in the opening few minutes. The 40th minute saw Blake Govers run down the right flank beating a few defenders but could not keep his shot on target, while on the other end India struggled to stitch passes together.

In the 43rd minute, Armaan Qureshi had a glorious chance to score India’s second goal but Johan Durst made a fine save on his left side, and it was Australia who managed to score on the counter as Tim Brand pushed the ball past Pathak to make it 5-1 with one quarter to play.

In the last quarter the visitors tried to create chances but the Australian defence made sure that they did not give them space in the circle. It was only in the 53rd minute that India managed to score their second goal as Rupinderpal Singh converted a Penalty Corner to make it 2-5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Hockey Legend Balbir Singh (Sr) is no more

Harpal Singh Bedi / New Delhi The grand old man of Indian hockey Balbir Singh (Senior) is no more. Conside ...

Football; U-17 girls keen to get back to the pitch; Ccoach Thomas Dennerby

Harpal Singh Bedi / New Delhi National U-17 Women’s Team Head Coach Thomas Dennerby has opined that his p ...



ممتاز مزاح نگار مجتبیٰ حسین انتقال کرگئے۔

ممتاز مزاح نگار مجتبیٰ حسین آ ج صبح حیدرآباد میں انتقال کرگئ ...

مارک زکربرگ کے اثاثوں میں 2 ماہ کے دوران 30 ارب ڈالرز کا اضافہ

WEB DESKدنیا بھر میں نئے نوول کورونا وائرس کی وبا کے باعث لاک ڈاو ...

کورونا کی ویکسین ابھی بنی نہیں کہ ’پہلے کسے ملے گی‘ پر جھگڑا شروع

AMNفرانسیسی دوا ساز کمپنی سنوفی کے چیف ایگزیکیٹو پال ہڈسن کے ا ...


India poised to emerge as world’s largest electronics and mobile manufacturing country

AMN India is poised to emerge as the world’s largest electronics and mobile manufacturing country. Union ...

Bill Gates leaves Microsoft

Bill Gates and wife Melinda WEB DESK Microsoft Co-founder Bill Gates has left the Board of directors of ...


60,000 marriages cancelled in Haryana

WEB DESK The wedding industry has been badly hit by the lockdown in Haryana. More than 60,000 marriages sch ...

Transgender activists ask Govt to halt Transgender Rules, 2020

FILE PHOTO WEB DESK More than 150 transgender activists from across India  have urged the governmen ...

@Powered By: Logicsart

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!