इंडियन आवाज़     10 Aug 2022 02:33:40      انڈین آواز

BJP’s Rahul Narvekar elected as Speaker of Maharashtra Assembly

Eknath Shinde govt to face floor test tomorro


BJP nominee Rahul Narvekar has been elected as the Speaker of the Mahrashtra Legislative Assembly. He defeated the Maha Vikas Aghadi nominee Rajan Salvi.

The Speaker election was conducted through division of votes in which Mr Narvekar bagged 164 votes, whereas Mr Salvi got 107 votes.

Mr Narvekar who started his journey as a corporator was honoured with the Common Wealth Parliamentary Board best orator award for 2015-16.

The two-day special session of the 288-member House got underway today at 11 am. Eknath Shinde-led government will face floor test in the Assembly tomorrow.

BJP nominee Rahul Narvekar’s victory to the post of Legislative Assembly Speaker was nothing less than a cakewalk with adequate numbers on his side.

Show of strength by the BJP and Eknath Shinde-led supporter MLAs were among the highlights of the first day of the assembly session.

As the Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister made their way into the House, the treasury bench MLAs donning traditional ‘saffron pheta’ a kind of headgear shouted slogans of Jai Bhavani, Jai Shivaji and Bharat Mata ki Jai.

After Narvekar was declared as the Speaker by deputy speaker Narhari Zirwal, he asked the officials recording the proceedings to write down the names of the MLAs who voted against the whip issued by the Shiv Sena. He also said that the voting has been videographed.

After completion of the election process, CM Eknath Shinde, Dy CM Devendra Fadnavis and Senior legislator of NCP Jayant Patil escorted Rahul Narvekar to the Speaker’s chair.

Congratulating the newly elected Speaker, Mr. Fadnavis said that Mr. Narvekar is not only the youngest Speaker in the history of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly but also in the history of the country.

While recognising his work leaders from both benches appreciated his deep knowledge on the parliamentary proceedings and presenting the facts on the floor of the House.

Meanwhile, on being made the chief minister of the state, Mr. Shinde thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and said that the dream of late Balasaheb Thackeray and Anand Dighe has been fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Chess Olympiad: Indian Women Clinch first-ever medal at Olympiad: bronze in Open section

Harpal Singh Bedi / Mamallapuram Indian women’s team scripted a new chapter by winning the country’s fi ...

CWG Men Hockey : Australia demolish India’s Gold dream with 7-0 thrashing

 Harpal Singh Bedi Blake Govers (9'), Nathan Ephraums (14', 42'), Jacob Anderson (22', 27'), Tom Wickham ( ...

Chess Olympiad;  India A in sole lead in women’s section, India B hold table-toppers Uzbekistan to a 2-2 draw

Harpal Singh BediKoneru Humpy, Tania Sachdev and Bhakti Kulkarni scored victories as India A  beat  Kazakhst ...


جگدیپ دھنکھڑ بھارت کے چودہویں نائب صدر منتخب

این ڈی اے کے امیدوار جگدیپ دھنکھڑ بھارت کے چودہویں نائب صدر م ...

تائیوان کے معاملے پر امریکہ اور چین کے درمیان پھر تلخ کلامی

تائیوان کے معاملے پر امریکی اور چینی رہنماؤں کے مابین دو گھن ...

کشمیر میں شری امرناتھ شرائن میں بادل پھٹنے کے بعد کئی ایجنسیاں تلاش اور بچاو میں مصروف

ٹینٹ اور خیمے پانی کے ریلے میں بہہ گئے| ۔15یاتریوں کی لاشیں بر ...


Free entry for visitors at all protected monuments from 5th to 15th August

AMN / NEW DELHI Government has made free entry for the visitors and tourists to all its protected monuments ...

Himachal Pradesh imports Australian sheeps to improve quality of wool

AMN / WEB DESK In a bid to achieve genetic improvement of indigenous sheep and to improve the quality of wo ...

National Museum to celebrate International Museum Day 2022 from 16th-20th May

By SUDHIR KUMAR National Museum New Delhi will celebrate International Museum Day 2022 for five day from to ...

@Powered By: Logicsart