Hong Kong to lift flight bans from April 1 from nine countries to contain spread of highly transmissible omicron variant. The countries where ban will be lifted include  India, Nepal, Pakistan, Australia, Canada, France, the Philippines, Britain, and the U.S.

The City’s Chief Executive Carrie Lam announced this during a press conference today said that the city would lift flight bans on countries as well as reduce quarantine time for travelers arriving in the city as coronavirus infections in its latest outbreak plateaus. Travelers entering the city can also quarantine for seven days in quarantine hotels, down from 14 days. Such travelers must also be fully vaccinated and test negative for the coronavirus before entering the city.