The United States will lift travel restrictions on eight southern African countries from December 31. The ban was imposed on 29th of last month over concerns about the fast-spreading COVID-19 Omicron variant.

The United States barred nearly all non-U.S. citizens who had recently been in South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi in an abundance of caution over the variant detected in South Africa.

In a tweet, White House spokesman Kevin Munoz said that Biden administration will lift the temporary travel restrictions on Southern Africa countries effective December 31.

A senior White House official said, the decision was recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).