LUCKNOW (AMN): Several Samajwadi party leaders have been arrested on Saturday night from Kunda police station in  Pratapgarh District. They include Member of Parliament from Kaushambi Shailendra Kumar, MLAs Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiya and Vinod Saroj, MLC Akshay Pratap Singh and seven others. The Superintendent of police, Pratapgarh O P Sagar told media persons they have been arrested under various sections of Indian Penal Code. Police has charged them with kidnapping, loot and violence.
The district police chief said that they were arrested also fro fight with a local BSP leader and with their supports. Both parties alleged that they were trying to influence the voters for the Chetra Panchayat Pramukh elections schedule to be held on 22nd December.
However the Samajwadi Party has severely criticized and said that the police act is a political grudge against Samajwadi party leaders. The leader of opposition in the state Shivpal Singh Yadav has alleged that this incident is a misuse of power by Mayawati government.