BANGALURU: The B.S.Yeddyurappa led BJP government in Karnataka once again proved his majority in the assembly albeit by a thin margin of only 2 votes. The victory, however, will depend on the High Court’s decision on the disqualification of 16 MLAs.The motion was carried by 106 votes supporting it and 100 against. Two MLAs – Manappa Vajjal from BJP and M C Ashwath of JD(S) – were absent, which brought down the effective strength of the 224-member assembly to 206.

The BJP had the support of 105 MLAs and an Independent MLA, while Congress had 73, JD(S) 27 in a house of 206. One Independent MLA, who was with the Opposition on Monday, sided with the Government today.

Unlike last time, the proceedings were orderly and the vote was taken through head count. 



Earlier, Speaker K G Bopaiah rejected a plea of the Leader of Opposition Siddaramaiah for postponing today’s vote till the Karnataka High Court’s decision. The House was adjourned sine die later.




Congress spokesman Manish Tewari said that the Speaker should have postponed the floor test till the High Court’s decision. But, BJP spokesman Rajiv Pratap Rudy described the trust vote as a conclusive proof of the Party’s stand that it has majority in the assembly.

 Former Karnataka Chief Minister and JD-S state unit chief H K Kumaraswamy, described the second trust vote won by Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa as temporary.