इंडियन आवाज़     21 Jul 2018 11:10:29      انڈین آواز

US: Trump administration announces new travel restrictions on certain foreigners


TRUMP DONALDThe United States has expanded its controversial travel ban to people from North Korea, Venezuela and Chad. The White House said the restrictions follow a review of information sharing by foreign governments.

US President Donald Trump issued a presidential proclamation late last night. He said making America safe is his number one priority. He said US will not admit those into the country whom it cannot safely vet.

The restrictions on Venezuelans apply only to government officials and their family members.

The three new countries join five others from Mr Trump’s original travel ban on Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, and Somalia. But the new proclamation removed restrictions that were placed on Sudan.

Mr Trump’s original ban was highly controversial, as it affected six majority-Muslim countries, and was widely labelled a Muslim ban. The addition of North Korea and Venezuela now means that not all nations on the list are majority-Muslim.

The criteria for the new ban list is now based on vetting procedures and co-operation, and the restrictions have now been tailored on a country-by-country basis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



SC slams Centre for ‘lethargy’ over upkeep of Taj Mahal

AMN / NEW DELHI The Supreme Court today criticised the Central Government and its authorities for their, wh ...

India, Nepal to jointly promote tourism

AMN / KATHMANDU India and Nepal have decided to promote tourism jointly. This was decided at the 2nd meeting ...

@Powered By: Logicsart