इंडियन आवाज़     19 Jul 2018 09:06:30      انڈین آواز

Presidential awards for classical Tamil presented


President Pranab Mukherjee today presented the ‘Presidential Awards for Classical Tamil’ for the year 2013-14, 2014-15 and 2015-16 at a function in Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The Tholkappiyar Award for lifetime achievement in classical Tamil was awarded to Dr S N Kandaswamy, Dr A Dakshinamurthy and Dr R Kalaikkovan.

Young scholar awards were conferred on 15 persons. The awards were given to them for showing excellence and promise in teaching, research and publication in classical Tamil.

While the Tholkappiyar awardees were presented with a citation, shawl and a cash prize of 5 lakh rupees, the young scholar awardees received citation and 1 lakh rupees.

The awards have been instituted by the Central Institute of Classical Tamil functioning under the aegis of Ministry of Human Resource Development.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



SC slams Centre for ‘lethargy’ over upkeep of Taj Mahal

AMN / NEW DELHI The Supreme Court today criticised the Central Government and its authorities for their, wh ...

India, Nepal to jointly promote tourism

AMN / KATHMANDU India and Nepal have decided to promote tourism jointly. This was decided at the 2nd meeting ...

@Powered By: Logicsart