इंडियन आवाज़     05 Dec 2023 11:29:14      انڈین آواز

Numbering system for trains changed

NEW DELHI: (AMN) The Railways has introduced a new five digit numbering system of trains from Monday. The new system, which has replaced the earlier four digit numbering of trains will help monitoring movement of passenger trains more effectively and facilitate management of train information scientifically for public convenience. 

According to the Ministry of Railways, to make the transition smooth and simple under the new scheme, only a prefix of the digit 1 (one) has been added to the four-digit numbers of the existing trains. 

They include all scheduled and regular express or mail and superfast trains including the Durontos, Yuva Trains, Rajdhani, Shatabdi, Jan Shatabdi, Garibrath and Sampark Kranti Express trains. 

The special trains run by the Railways during holiday and festival season will also be numbered on the pattern of the mail and express trains except that they shall have the prefix of digit ‘0’ (zero). 

The major initiative will create a unique train number which will be a national level identity for each train and will cover all the passenger-carrying trains running in the Indian Railways network.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Govt launches National Best Tourism Village Competition & Best Rural Homestay Competition 2024

AMN / WEB DESK Union Tourism Ministry has launched National Best Tourism Village Competition and the Nation ...

Thailand announces visa-free entry for Indian citizens

Thailand is scrapping visas for scores of Indian tourists in order to rekindle the fire in its tourism sector. ...

World Tourism Day 2023: Govt Launches ‘Travel for LiFE’ Campaign

By Vinit Wahi On the occasion of World Tourism Day 2023 today, the Ministry of Tourism (Northern Region) u ...


International forum on ‘Role of Media in Inciting Hatred and Violence’ begins in Jeddah

JEDDAH The Secretary-General of the Muslim World League Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa on Sunday hi ...

Journalists felicitated on National Press Day at Press Club of India

Journalists will have to fight together against attacks on press freedom: Siddharth Varadarajan Staff R ...


India and US to launch joint microwave remote sensing satellite (NISAR) for Earth observation

India and the US will launch the joint microwave remote sensing satellite for Earth observation in the coming ...

Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center plays crucial role in field of space: Jitendra Singh

AMN / WEB DESK Union Minister of State Jitendra Singh said that Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center( VSSC ...

@Powered By: Logicsart