इंडियन आवाज़     22 Sep 2018 06:57:22      انڈین آواز

Indian Junior Players League T20 to be played in  Dubai from 19 September




By Harpal Singh Bedi / New Delhi

The inaugural season of the Indian Junior Player League T20 (IJPL T20) will be held in Dubai’s state-of-the-art International Cricket Stadium, from September 19-29,


Talking to media persons here today former test opener  Gautam Gambhir,who is  brand ambassdor of the  IJPL T20  said, “The  tournament  is a unique Platform for youngsters in India to showcase their talent and get into the limelight during the conduct of the League. I take this opportunity to convey my best wishes to each of the 240 players.”


Managing director   IJPL T20  Dinesh Kapoor said “The Indian Junior Players League T20 has been inspired by the relentless passion and love that our young people have for cricket.


He claimed that  IJPL’s aim is to support the talent across India, especially the underprivileged children playing in the gulleys and slums and give them state-of-the-art facilities and international exposure so that their dreams can take flight.


The first edition of the IJPL will witness 16 franchises who are being backed by some of the heavyweights from the entertainment industry and sports.


Film-maker and actor Arbaaz Khan who has championed the promotion of sports in the past also, comes on board as the proud owner of Mumbai franchise, the Mumbai Masters, while actor Rajeev Khandelwal who is known for reinventing acting roles and an avid cricket fan, is the owner of the Rajasthan franchise, the Rajasthan Roarers.


Promoting and sharing cricket tips with the young cricketers on the IJPL T20 arena will be three iconic mentors – star cricketer Gautam Gambhir, South African ace Jonty Rhodes and West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard


The players for the IJPL T20 16 franchises were selected on the basis of extensive trials conducted over three days each at a slew of talent-hunt camps which were held under the guidance of qualified and accredited coaches to unearth genuine talent from small towns and cities in as many as 23 cities in 16 States across India


All the IJPL T20 matches will be held at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium while the  semifinals and final will  be played  under  floodlights


The young guns will have plenty at stake in the path-breaking IJPL T20 as the 16 franchises will slog it out for the winner’s trophy and the champions will take home a prize money of INR 21 lakh and the runners-up will get INR 11 lakh. Besides, the man of the tournament will be sent to play in minor county cricket in the UK.


The 16 teams are scheduled to fly to Dubai from their nearest airport and the players will be staying at the Ghaya Grand Hotel which is located in the vicinity of the  Stadium.


The  teams have been divided into four groups where all the teams will play against each other once.


The top-2 teams from each group with maximum points will qualify for the quarterfinals, followed by the winning teams’ progress to the semi-finals and further to the final.


List of 16 Franchises in 2017 IJPL T20:

Gujarat Greats, Kolkata Strikers, Bangalore Stars, Assam Rangers, Pune Panthers, Delhi Dashers, Ranchi Boosters, Punjab Tigers, Dehradun Rockers, UP Heroes, Hyderabad Hawks, Chennai Champs, Rajasthan Roarers, Mumbai Masters, MP Warriors, and Haryana Hurricanes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Policy for Eco-tourism will provide livelihood to local communities

AMN / NEW DELHI GOVERNMENT OF INDIA has prepared a policy for Eco-tourism in forest and wildlife areas, which ...

Living index: Pune best city to live in, Delhi ranks at 65

The survey was conducted on 111 cities in the country. Chennai has been ranked 14 and while New Delhi stands a ...


@Powered By: Logicsart