इंडियन आवाज़     17 Jul 2018 03:30:17      انڈین آواز

Former Union Minister Taslim Uddin passes away


Our Correspondent / Patna

Member of Parliament from Arriya, Bihar and former Union Minister Taslim Uddin passed away on Sunday at a hospital in Chennai. He was 74. He was not well for some time and was being treated at Apollo Hospital in Chennai. His death sent a shock wave in Bihar particularly in the seemanchal region which he represented both in parliament the assembly for long time.

According to his family sources he will buried at his ancestral village Sisouna in Arariya, Bihar on Tuesday.

Taslim uddin was a seven-time MLA and five-time MP. He had served as Union Minister of State for Home Devegowda government.

He Joined politics in 1957; held various posts as a socialist worker till 1964; after the split in Congress Party, joined Congress under the leadership of Ashok Mehta; remained actively associated with the Congress Organisation and served it as Divisional (Mandal) President.

He joined joined Co-operative movement in 1960 and was Chairman, Jokihat Vyapar Mandal;

Member, (i) Socialist Party, 1957-64; (ii) Congress Party,1964-72; (iii) J.P. Movement, 1974; (iv) Janata Party, 1977-80; (v) Lok Dal, 1980-85; (vi) Board of Directors, Central Cooperative Bank, Purnea, 1960-69; and (vii) Board of Directors, Indian Institute of Mines, Dhanbad; Representative Member, Biscomaun and State Cooperative Bank; and imprisoned several times since 1957 for political agitations.
Social And Cultural Activities
Led the literacy movement for spreading education in the villages of Bihar, especially Seemanchal; established a number of educational institutions, viz. High School at Jokihat, Udahat, Malharia Hat, Araria College, Women`s College, Millia College, Peoples College, Araria, Kishan College, Jokihat and several others
Positions Held
1959 Sarpanch, Gram Panchayat, Sisauna
1964 Mukhiya, Gram Panchyat, Sisauna, Jokihat
1969-89, 1995-96 and 2002-2004 Member, Bihar Legislative Assembly (Eight Terms)
1977-80 Parliamentary Secretary, Government of Bihar
1985-1989 Vice President, Janata Party, Bihar
1989 Elected to 9th Lok Sabha
1989-91 Member, Committee on Public Accounts
1989-97 Member, National Council, Janata Dal
1996 Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
June-July 1996 Union Minister of State, Home Affairs
1996-98 Member, Standing Committee for Home Affairs
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Home Affairs
Member, Parliamentary Committee on Wakf Board
General Secretary, Rashtriya Janata Dal
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1998-99 Member, Standing Committee on Railways
Member, Railway Convention Committee
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Tourism
February 2000 Member, Bihar Legislatiev Assembly
2000-2004 Minister, Housing, Government of Bihar
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (4th term)
May 2004 – 2009 Union Minister of State, Agriculture and Consumer affairs, Food & Public Distribution
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (5th term)
1 Sep. 2014 onwards Member, Committee on Government Assurances
Member, Standing Committee on Chemicals and Fertilizers
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Rural Development, Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water and Sanitation
29 Jan. 2015 onwards Member, General Purposes Committee
Books Published
(i) Seemanchal Kyon? (ii) Seemanchal Bulletin and (iii) Bihar Kishore

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



SC slams Centre for ‘lethargy’ over upkeep of Taj Mahal

AMN / NEW DELHI The Supreme Court today criticised the Central Government and its authorities for their, wh ...

India, Nepal to jointly promote tourism

AMN / KATHMANDU India and Nepal have decided to promote tourism jointly. This was decided at the 2nd meeting ...

@Powered By: Logicsart