इंडियन आवाज़     29 Nov 2023 08:30:47      انڈین آواز

Five states go to polls in April-May

The elections in these states are set to  impact intra-UPA relations in the states and at the Centre and perhaps even affect government-opposition relations.

The Chief Election Commissioner, S.Y.Qureshi on Tuesday said that elections in Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry will be held on April 13 in one phase, while in Assam, the votes will be cast in two phases on April 4 and 11.

West Bengal will have a six-phase poll schedule which would begin on the April 18 and conclude on  May 10. Counting of votes will take place on the May 13.

Talking to media persons here Qureshi said that model code of conduct has come into effect immediately. He said for the first time the election commission will distribute voter slips to the electorate through booth level officers and said that a call centre will be established to receive complaints from voters.

The CEC said an expenditure monitoring division has been set up in commission manned by senior income tax officials
to curb the menace of money power in elections,. He said several other measures for strict scrutiny and monitoring of expenditure have been taken.

Asked as to why the EC has gone in for six-phased polls in West Bengal, the CEC said that a decision was taken keeping in view the “ground realities”.

The EC had already sent two teams to the state to study the law and order situation.

On reports that 100 companies of Central Paramilitary forces have been made available for the conduct of elections, he merely said that the EC never discloses the forces it has and the government has assured adequate forces for ensuring free and fair polls.

A highlight this time is that Overseas Indians could exercise their franchise in person and instructions have been issued to facilitate their voting.

Kerala with 140 seats and West Bengal 294 seats are being ruled by left front, while Congress is in power in Assam which has 126 assembly seats and 30 seat Puducherry. Tamil Nadu which has 234 seats is currently ruled by DMK.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


اتراکھنڈ: سرنگ میں پھنسے 41 مزدوروں کو بحفاظت باہر نکال لیا گیا۔: UTTRAKHAND TUNNEL

اترکاشی ٹنل حادثے میں 17ویں دن ایک بڑی کامیابی ملی ہے۔ بالآخر ...

پاکستان چھوڑنے پر مجبور افغان مہاجرین Pakistan-Afghanistan

اقوام متحدہ کے عالمی پروگرام برائے خوراک (ڈبلیو ایف پی) نے کہ ...

پائیدار ٹرانسپورٹ کا پہلا عالمی دن منایا گیا

گوتیرش کا ماحول دوست سفر پر زور پائیدار ٹرانسپورٹ کا پہل ...


Thailand announces visa-free entry for Indian citizens

Thailand is scrapping visas for scores of Indian tourists in order to rekindle the fire in its tourism sector. ...

World Tourism Day 2023: Govt Launches ‘Travel for LiFE’ Campaign

By Vinit Wahi On the occasion of World Tourism Day 2023 today, the Ministry of Tourism (Northern Region) u ...

Santiniketan inscribed on UNESCO World Heritage List

AMN / WEB DESK Santiniketan, the famed place where great poet Rabindranath Tagore built Visva-Bharati over ...


International forum on ‘Role of Media in Inciting Hatred and Violence’ begins in Jeddah

JEDDAH The Secretary-General of the Muslim World League Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulkarim Al-Issa on Sunday hi ...

Journalists felicitated on National Press Day at Press Club of India

Journalists will have to fight together against attacks on press freedom: Siddharth Varadarajan Staff R ...


India and US to launch joint microwave remote sensing satellite (NISAR) for Earth observation

India and the US will launch the joint microwave remote sensing satellite for Earth observation in the coming ...

Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center plays crucial role in field of space: Jitendra Singh

AMN / WEB DESK Union Minister of State Jitendra Singh said that Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Center( VSSC ...

@Powered By: Logicsart