इंडियन आवाज़     18 Jun 2018 09:03:14      انڈین آواز

Congress wins Punjab, close to victory in Manipur, Goa

punjab congress


The Congress today made a resounding comeback in Punjab after a gap of a decade, getting a clear majority in the 117-member Assembly winning 77 seats. AAP and the SAD-BJP combine were at 22 and 18, respectively. Shiromani Akali Dal gets 15 and BJP 3.

With the Congress heading towards a landslide win in Punjab, state Congress President Capt Amarinder Singh has proved a saviour for the party. Obviously, the Congress will use the Punjab platform to improve the fortunes of the party in other parts of the country. Had it not done well this time, it would probably have been finished forever in the state.

While handing a crushing defeat to the ruling SAD-BJP combine and also rejecting the rookie Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the voters comprehensively trusted the leadership of the experienced Capt Amarinder Singh to give a decisive mandate to the Congress.

Chief Minister Prakash Singh Badal retained his traditional Lambi constituency defeating State Congress President Amrinder Singh. Amrinder Singh, however, retained his Patiala seat. Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal has retained Jalalabad seat, defeating Aam Admi Party MP Bhagwant Mann. Cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu, contesting on Congress ticket, has won the Amritsar East seat.

Image result for Okram Ibobi SinghManipur, Congress has won 28 seats while BJP could get 21 seats. Naga Peoples Front and National Peoples Party have won 4 seats each. Trinamool Congress, Union Minister Ramvilas Paswan led Lok Jansakti Party and Independent get one seat each. Mr. Paswan has announced the support of lone LJP MLA to BJP.

Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh has won Thoubal Assembly seat defeating nearest BJP rival by over 10 thousand votes. Human rights activist Irom Sharmila, who had contested against the Chief Minister, finished fourth securing only 90 votes.

In Goa, Congress has won 17 seats in the 40-member assembly and BJP 13. MGP has won 3 seats, others 4 and Independents 3. Losers from the state include Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar. Mr. Parsekar met the Governor Mridula Sinha and submitted his resignation. He lost from Madrem constituency to Congress candidate Dayanand Sopte by over 7,000 votes.

Talking to mediapersons in Panaji, Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar said, the party has the highest vote share of 33 percent though it has won less number of seats. He also said that the party will try to contact the smaller parties and independents for support in the formation of new government. He emphasised that the incumbency factor in Goa was not pertaining to the party or government but on a personal basis.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



ADB to fund Rs 1900 crores for development of Tourism in Himachal Pradesh

By Vinit Wahi Department of Economic Affairs, Union Ministry of Finance, has approved a Tourism Infrastructur ...

Air India marks 70 years since 1st India-UK flight

  Air India is marking 70 years since its first flight took off from Mumbai to London in June 1948, wh ...

@Powered By: Logicsart